top of page

The Metronome

The Metronome.jpg

The Metronome

Book 1 of The Counterpoint Trilogy

Pavel Rostin has taken too many chances. Once a promising physicist, he abandoned science for finance and risked everything on a speculative venture. Careless and rogue, he gambled with his personal relationships. As Pavel tries to pick up the pieces of his life, a call from Russia informs him that his father is dead.

When Pavel follows his father’s footsteps trying to solve the mystery of his death, he turns up some inexplicable clues. The investigation draws him deeper and deeper into his family’s past – and his country’s future. From starving 1941 Leningrad to free-wheeling Moscow of the mid-1990s to bubbly 2006 Wall Street, Pavel uncovers a web of money, murder, revenge and evidence of a plot involving the world’s superpowers. The choices of right and wrong don’t look as clear cut as in newspaper headlines. But is he just a pawn in someone else’s game?

The Metronome is the first book in The Counterpoint Trilogy and a prequel to the earlier published The Great GameThe Great Game and The Metronome are largely independent, with only a minor overlap amongst the characters. The last book in the trilogy, The Outer Circle brings the heroes of the two earlier books together to conclude their journey. The trilogy was written in 2013-15 and was based on the premise of a new "Cold War" developing that would pit the US against China and Russia. Unfortunately, too many of the events described in the trilogy took place since.

bottom of page